Top 10 Most Anticipated Movies of 2014

2014’s line-up of cinematic entertainment looks pretty darn awesome in my opinion. With highly anticipated sequels, intriguing remakes, and adaptions from some of the top best-sellers in the book industry, what’s not to get excited about!

Now, I’ve come in a little late as far as putting up my list of top 10 most anticipated movies to check out this year (it’s already March – yikes!), so I’ve already missed a few great choices that have screened during the past two months. But, hey – I find this topic very interesting, so as far as I’m concerned, March is not too late to jump in and pipe up with my top interests for a great cinema experience throughout the year.

NOTE: This list is just my personal top 10 movies I’m looking forward to this year. Yours is likely very different. Or maybe it’s not. Either way, it’s kinda fun to gauge what others are looking forward to movie-wise. Also, this list is in no particular order of preference. I’m looking forward to seeing all these movies, and while there are some I’m more excited about than others, I won’t make a point of setting them in any kind of order.

movie poster 5How to Train Your Dragon 2

I LOVED the first movie. To this day, it’s one of my all-time favourite movies. And since then, I have been excitedly awaiting the release of the second. How long has it been since the first one – four years? That’s a long time to wait for a sequel – but I’m pretty confident the wait will be well worth it. Bring on the return of Hiccup and Toothless!

 

 

movie poster 4X-Men: Days of Future Past

I grew up with a general familiarity of the X-Men, even though I never read the comics. I thoroughly enjoyed the first two X-Men movies. Not so much the third, but that did not deter me from seeing X-Men Origins: Wolverine, The Wolverine (both really cool), and of course X-Men: First Class (which I really, really enjoyed). Since I’ve been following the X-Men from the beginning, when I saw the teaser trailer for this latest instalment, needless to say I became super excited. I can’t wait to see this!

 

movie poster 13Godzilla

Again, I grew up being familiar with this iconic King of the Monsters. As a kid, I watched some of the original movies (I can’t remember which ones), and I even owned Godzilla toys. When the 1998 re-make came out, I was very excited. And now that a new re-make has emerged – looking more awesome than ever – I am once again on the rollercoaster of anticipation. This movie is no doubt going to look AMAZING on the big-screen!

 

 

movie poster 2Mockingjay: Part 1

I have read the books (which are fantastic), and so far I’ve been very impressed by the movie adaptions. They’ve done a great job of transitioning the story from book to movie (which some people fail to understand are two completely different creatures), and I’ve been able to enjoy and appreciate both versions. It’s a given I want to see this at the cinemas – and I’m intrigued as to how they managed to break the final book into ‘two’ parts. Time to take on the Capitol!

 

movie poster 6Noah

The moment I saw the trailer, I wanted to see this. A sombre and gritty re-telling of one of the most famous biblical stories known. I don’t care about the huffing and puffing some people are making about this movie. If you’re offended or whatever, don’t go see it – simple as that. As for me, I am looking forward to watching it!

 

 

 

movie poster 7Maleficent

As a child, I loved Sleeping Beauty (the Disney rendition of the classic Brothers Grimm tale, of course). It’s such an old animation, but one of Disney’s great classics, so the fact that they are doing a re-telling of the tale with the focal point centred on the villain instead of the heroes, has me all jittery with anticipation. Maleficent is also one of my favourite Disney villains – always has been (she can turn into a ferocious, fire-breathing dragon for goodness sake!), so I’m really looking forward to seeing how they weave the origins of her disgruntlement against Aurora in this new movie. Oh, and Angelia looks amazing!

poster 8Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

I was unexpectedly blown away by  the first movie (Rise of the Planet of the Apes). It was extraordinarily absorbing and well-done in every aspect (in my opinion). When I heard they were continuing the story, I fist-pumped the air several times. Really looking forward to seeing where this movie goes. How AMAZING does the CGI look!

 

 

 

movie poster .9Edge of Tomorrow

The premise of this story sounds really interesting! Sci-fi setting, war against aliens, characters caught in a time loop – it’s enough to make any sci-fi fan prick their ears in sudden interest. For me, Tom Cruise is a hit-and-miss actor when it comes to movies. But I was super impressed with him in Oblivion, and he looks set to make another great performance in this new sci-fi film.

 

 

movie poster 9Guardians of the Galaxy

Okay, I don’t really know all that much about this movie. I’m not familiar with any of the characters or the original comic stories. But it sounds really cool! Fantasy/ sci-fi setting, misfit alien characters, saving the galaxy – sounds super geeky when you put it like that, but hey, geeky is the new cool, right? Well I think so (but I may be kinda biased since I’m a geek, myself). I’ve enjoyed all the marvel movies so far, so I should think this one won’t be any less fun, adventurous, and entertaining.

 

I couldn't find an official movie poster for There and Back Again, so this picture will have to suffice.

I couldn’t find an official movie poster for There and Back Again, so this picture will have to suffice.

The Hobbit: Battle of the 5 Armies

Needs no explaining. I grew up with Tolkien’s stories. I fell in love with fantasy because of tales like The Hobbit, and The Lord of the Rings. I’ve loved all of Peter Jackson’s movie adaptions. On par with How to Train Your Dragon 2, Battle of the Five Armies is my most anticipated movie for 2014.

 

So, how about you? Which movies would you put on your top ten for 2014 cinema releases? Would any from my list make it onto yours? Feel free to leave a comment and put down your favourite picks for this year!

About WhimsicalWerecat

In short - Creative extraordinaire, warrior princess, dragon-lover, anime enthusiast, partisan of fantastical things, and most assuredly and proudly peculiar!
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment